Are the settings that you suggest for the server?
I’ve had minimal luck with system restore, but it has saved the day a couple of times. It’s not practical to backup systems before ‘minor’ software is installed, and it doesn’t always install properly.
In other words, I’d hate to have to turn this feature off on any of the machines. No other software seems to be affected by this.