Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    BHeim
    Participant

I’m a long-time user of NV1 and I’d rather not upgrade to NV2 if I could solve my printer problem. As most know, the newer printers do not recognize DOS. I’ve called most dealers around my area and none know of any new printers that would be compatible.

Secondly, if I do have to switch to NV2…how similar to NV1 is it? Will my books still look and operate the same? I’m a bookkeeper and I will not have the option of taking any courses and there are no accountants in my area that use NV, except to do the year end work for my clients, so I’ll be on my own.

Thanks,
    Becky

DEholnikof
    Participant

Ah – you may want to consider using nvPRNq – it will allow you to print with any Windows printer (For NV1)

You can find more info at http://www.prgms.com

David

HMah
    Participant

There are still many printers which have a Parallel port, both Laser and Dot Matric.

For Dot Matric I like the Okidata 320I

For the Laser suggest HP1300, or Lexmark 232E

HMah
    Participant

There are still many printers which have a Parallel port, both Laser and Dot Matric.

For Dot Matric I like the Okidata 320I

For the Laser suggest HP1300, or Lexmark 232E
    Wanted to add HP1320 and Lexmark T420D, both have parallel ports and therefore can be used by NV1.

As QW mentioned in some of the posts you can assign a network printer to LPT1 by using the “net use lpt1: \(network)(printer name)”

As for switching, I’d wait till the program is fully functional and tested. As it stands you will notice a considerable difference from NV1 and I doubt you would be able to get the same productivity output.

Post Edited (02-08-05 15:11)

BHeim
    Participant

Thank you for your advice. I’ll stay where I am for now and have purchased a dot matrix printer.

Becky

DEholnikof
    Participant

Well – that certainly is a solution and will continue to be a good solution !